About the American Electrology Association

The American Electrology Association (AEA), established in 1958, is the largest international nonprofit membership organization for permanent hair removal professionals. The AEA promotes the highest standards in Electrology education, practice and ethics and champions state licensing and regulation of the profession to protect the public interest. The American Electrology Association plays a key role in providing reliable and scientifically accurate information to its membership, the public, the medical community and government agencies.

Learn more about membership benefits of AEA

Our programs

Goals of AEA

National Scientific Consultants

The AEA is pleased to number Dr. James Schuster, Dr. Ricardo Azziz, Dr. Wylee Hembree, Dr. Robert Richards, and Walter Bond, MS, Research Microbiologist, consultant (retired from CDC), among those offering important, ongoing information on matters of importance to the Electrology profession.

Organizational structure

The AEA, an affiliate organization, consists of state associations and individual unaffiliated members. The Board of Directors, Officers, Program Directors, Committee Chairs and Affiliate Delegates are volunteer members.

Board of Directors

The AEA Board of Directors (BOD) is the governing body. The Board consists of the Officers, Immediate Past President, Delegates representing Affiliate States, two Delegates-At-Large representing unaffiliated members. The non-voting members of the Board are: Executive Director, Director, Office of Continuing Education (OCE), Director, International Board of Electrologist Certification (IBEC), Director, Council On Accreditation (COA), and Committee Chairmen.

The duties and powers of the Board shall be to manage the affairs, funds and property of the Association. The Board shall establish programs and committees to further the objectives of the Association and prescribe rules and procedures for such programs and committees,

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of the President, three Vice-Presidents, a Secretary, a Treasurer, and the Immediate Past President.

The non-voting members of the Executive Committee are the Executive Director and the Directors of OCE, IBEC and COA.

Duties and powers: The Executive Committee shall manage the affairs, funds and property of the Association, and other duties as may be assigned by the Board, between meetings of the Board of Directors. The Committee may recommend policies, procedures, and resolutions for Association programs and committees.


The President presides at all meetings of the Association, appoints committee chairmen and fills vacancies occurring in the Executive Committee, with Board approval. The President is an exofficio member of all programs and committees with the exception of the Nominating Committee. For more information see the AEA's Bylaws and Policies & Procedures Manual.

Current AEA leadership


Pearl G. Warner, CPE
4711 Midlothian Tpk #13
Crestwood, IL 60418
Phone: 708-293-1400
Fax: 708-293-1405

1st Vice President

Bridgett Meggs, CPE
1003 E, Broad Street, STE100
Mansfield, TX 76063
Phone: 817-879-7817

2nd Vice President

Julia A.Hamilton, CPE
4245 Capitola Rd Suite 101
Capitola, CA 95010
Phone: 831-426-3540

3rd Vice President

Randa Thurman, CPE
444 Pearl Street, Suite B-1
Monterey, CA 93940
Phone: 831-643-2215


Deborah A. Cassin, CPE
255 North Rd, Unit 86
Chelmsford, MA 01824
Phone: 978-337-5993

Recording Secretary

Julieanne Vasquez, CPE
14 Derrick Drive
Attleboro, MA 02703
Phone: 401-72-1717

Council on Education


International Board of Electrologist Certification

Patsy Kirby, CPE
4188 SW Tommy Armour Lane
Redmond, OR 97756
Phone: 707-777-5315

Office of Continuing Education

Vickie Widmyer, CPE
718 Summitview Ave
Yakima, WA 98902
Phone: 509-961-0435

Japan Office of Continuing Education

Keiko Tezuka, Ph.D., CPE, Director
43F Shinjuku Center Bldg.,
1-25-1, Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku-ku,
Tokyo, Japan 163-0655
Fax: 011-81-3-3345-8489

Honorary Members of the American Electrology Association

Marilyn Kraut — Delray Beach, FL
Joan L. Mahan — Timonium, MD
Jean Ogren — Sacramento, CA
Sharon Ortiz — Wenatchee, WA
Teresa E. Petricca — Delray Beach, FL

Find an Electrologist

Verify CPE Status